



New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade Manatu Aprere

195 Lambton Quay Private Bag 18–901 Wellington 6160 New Zealand

+64 4 439 8000 +64 4 472 9596

#### 13 February 2020

Francis Cole fyi-request-12002-c120ed8c@requests.fyi.org.nz

Dear Francis Cole

I refer to your email of 10 January 2020 in which you request the following under the Official Information Act 1982 (OIA):

- "1. list of the new zealand delegation (all members) to the asean/east asia summit in thailand in november 2019
- 2. list of the new zealand delegation (all members) to the UN general assembly in new york in september 2019
- 3. names of hotels booked for the delegation attending the UN assembly in new york and number of rooms in each hotel"

The attached annexes contain the delegation lists you requested. 17 rooms were booked across five hotels.

Your request for the names of hotels booked for the delegation attending the United Nations Assembly in New York is withheld under the following sections of the OIA:

- 6(a): to avoid prejudicing the security or defence of New Zealand or the international relations of the New Zealand Government; and
- 6(d): to endanger the safety of any person.

Please note that this letter (with your personal details redacted) may be published on the Ministry's website.

You have the right under section 28(3) of the OIA to seek a review of this response by the Ombudsman.

Yours sincerely

Wendy Adams

for Secretary of Foreign Affairs and Trade

#### Annex A

# New Zealand Delegation to the East Asia Summit in Thailand, November 2019

Right Honourable Jacinda Ardern Prime Minister of New Zealand

Hon Damien O'Connor
Minister of State for Trade and Export Growth

Brook Barrington
Chief Executive, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Ben King Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Rajesh Nahna Chief of Staff, Office of the Prime Minister

Ellen Read
Deputy Chief Press Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Paula Wilson
Foreign Policy Adviser, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Alison Mann Divisional Manager, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Barney Riley Lead Negotiator, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Thomas Appleton
Senior Policy Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Kimberley Rothwell Senior Media Adviser, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Hannah Adams
Private Secretary, Office of the Minister of State for Trade and Export Growth

Michael Zhang Policy Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Seamus Dunn Policy Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Anjali Sarma Legal Adviser, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade Lucy Ashford

Policy Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Luke Roper

Trade Adviser, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Caitlin Wiffin

Team Administrator, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Rodney Lelieveld

Project Manager, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Fiona Love

Project Manager, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Henare Williams

Mobile Operations Engineer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

## New Zealand Mission to ASEAN, Jakarta

Pam Dunn

Ambassador, New Zealand Mission to ASEAN, Jakarta

Charlie Gillard

Deputy Head of Mission, New Zealand Mission to ASEAN, Jakarta

Tim Wang

Second Secretary, New Zealand Mission to ASEAN, Jakarta

### New Zealand Embassy, Bangkok

Taha Macpherson

Ambassador, New Zealand Embassy, Bangkok

James Andersen

Deputy Head of Mission, New Zealand Embassy, Bangkok

Jennifer-Lee Pritchard,

Second Secretary, New Zealand Embassy, Bangkok

#### Annex B

# New Zealand Delegation to the UN General Assembly in New York, September 2019

Right Honourable Jacinda Ardern Prime Minister of New Zealand

Honourable Aupito William Sio Minister for Pacific Peoples

Chris Seed

Chief Executive, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Victoria Hallum

Deputy Secretary Multilateral and Legal Affairs Group, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Kay Harrison

Ambassador for Climate Change, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Andrew Campbell

Chief Press Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Rajesh Nahna

Chief of Staff, Office of the Prime Minister

Paula Wilson

Foreign Policy Adviser, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Paul Ash

Acting Director National Security Policy Directorate, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Christopher McAvoy

Private Secretary Media/Advisory, Office of the Minister for Pacific Peoples

Fleur Thompson

Senior Media Adviser, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Stephanie Lee

Special Adviser, Climate Change, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Rachel Dunn

Event Project Manager - Climate Change, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Carolyn Wilson

Policy Officer - Christchurch Call to Action, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Sara Meymand

Unit Manager, Trade Negotiations Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

### New York-based delegates

H.E. Mr. Craig Hawke

Permanent Representative, New Zealand Permanent Mission to the United Nations

Finnian Cheshire

Deputy Permanent Representative, New Zealand Permanent Mission to the United Nations

Renee Yap

Counsellor, New Zealand Permanent Mission to the United Nations

Colonel Rob Gillard

Defence Attaché, New Zealand Permanent Mission to the United Nations

David Lynch

First Secretary, New Zealand Permanent Mission to the United Nations

Luke Roughton

Second Secretary, New Zealand Permanent Mission to the United Nations

Sarah McDowell

Second Secretary, New Zealand Permanent Mission to the United Nations

Rachael Pringle

Second Secretary, New Zealand Permanent Mission to the United Nations

Ben Collins

Policy Adviser, New Zealand Permanent Mission to the United Nations

Jikita de Schot

Policy Adviser, New Zealand Permanent Mission to the United Nations

Alexandra Hardie

Policy Adviser, New Zealand Permanent Mission to the United Nations

Elizabeth Mayes

Policy Adviser, New Zealand Permanent Mission to the United Nations

#### Tokelau delegation

Honourable Kelihiano Kalolo Ulu-o-Tokelau

Paula Favia

Climate Change Programme Manager, Tokelau