

30 March 2022

John Luke fyi-request-18764-ba28e456@requests.fyi.org.nz

Our ref: OIA 94161

Tēnā koe John

Official Information Act 1982 request: Anti-money Laundering and Countering Financing of Terrorism Act 2009 review industry advisory group

Thank you for your email of 3 March 2022, in which you requested under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act), information regarding the review of the Anti-Money Laundering and Countering Financing of Terrorism Act 2009 (AML/CFT). Specifically, you requested:

I noted you have a industry advisory group for Anti money laundering Act 2009.

https://www.justice.govt.nz/assets/Documents/Publications/AMLCFT-Statutory-Review-Consultation-Document.pdf

May I request the term of reference for this group, payment rate for it's members, name and bio of this group's members and their term of appointments.

Full meeting minutes since the group's inception.

Also, I would like to know if you have any other type's industry advisory group that involved external person, if so please provide me with the name of your group and their members.

In response to your request, I am releasing three documents to you as described in Table 1, enclosed. Please note that the document 'IAG Hui 23.11.2021 capture document' is being refused under section 18(d) of the Act as this is publicly available on the Ministry of Justice website, here: www.justice.govt.nz/assets/Documents/Publications/IAG-Hui-28-October-2021-capture-document.pdf.

Participation in the AML/CFT Industry Advisory Group is voluntary, meaning there is no financial compensation for being a member. Further, member's bios were not created. Accordingly, I am refusing these aspects of your request under section 18(e) of the Act as the information does not exist or cannot be found.

Regarding your last question, I can inform you that the Ministry of Justice also runs the Access to Justice Advisory Group.

The Access to Justice Advisory Group is co-chaired by Chief High Court Judge, Justice Thomas and Sam Kunowski (General Manager, Courts and Justice Services Policy). It includes representatives from the judiciary, legal profession, the Ministry of Justice, and academia.

The Access to Justice Advisory Group was established as an advisory group to the Courts Strategic Partnership Group. It is responsible for driving the development and implementation of an access to justice work programme focussed on civil justice.

The current membership of the Access to Justice Advisory Group is:

- Justice Thomas, Chief High Court Judge (co-chair)
- Sam Kunowski, General Manager, Courts and Justice Services Policy, Ministry of Justice (co-chair)
- Chief Judge Inglis, Employment Court
- Horiana Irwin-Easthope, Director, Whāia Legal
- Sarah Lynn, Acting Chief Advisor, Ministry of Justice
- Victoria McLaughlin, Group Manager Commissioning and Service Improvement, Ministry of Justice
- Dr Bridgette Toy-Cronin, Director, Civil Justice Centre, Faculty of Law, University of Otago

If you are not satisfied with this response, you have the right under section 23(a) to complain to the Ombudsman. The Ombudsman may be contacted as info@ombudsman@parliament.nz.

Nāku noa nā

Brendan Gage General Manager, Criminal Justice Policy



Table 1: Documents for release

No. 1	Date 2021	Туре		Comments
		Terms of	Title Anti-Money Laundering and Countering	Released
	2021	reference	Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT) Regime	in full
			Review - Industry Advisory Group	
				Š
2	10/06/2021	Meeting record	IAG Meeting 10.06.2021	Released
			U. O.	in full
3	2021	Members list	AML/CFT Act Statutory Review – Industry	Released
			Advisory Group Members	in full
4	23/11/2021	Meeting record	IAG Hui 23.11.2021 capture document	Refused
				under
				s18(d)
			of the second se	