

OIA22-0661

30 September 2022

John Luke fyi-request-20152-ae576ef0@requests.fyi.org.nz

Dear John

Thank you for your email of 5 August 2022 requesting information relating to board appointments. Your request has been considered under the Official Information Act 1982 (OIA).

You requested the following:

I noted from the report,

Page 13, MPI has appointed 11 Māori, 1 pacific, 2 Asian and 2 others member to its boards. can you please provide the name of the person and the position for appointments regards to the above?

On 2 September 2022, the Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI) extended the time limit to respond to your request to 30 September 2022. We also acknowledged that your request of 1 September 2022 would be responded to in this letter.

You requested the following:

It shows you have appointed 11 Māori, 1 Pacific, 2 Asian and 2 Others appointees. Can you please provide the name of each appointees and which board/committee they have been appointed to. Also, please included their position in the board/committee and their term of appointment.

Please refer to Appendix One below, outlining the 13 board appointees that are related to your request. All of the ethnicities a member identifies with are included in the Stocktake data, so most of the ethnicity by agency and ethnicity by portfolio results will add up to over 100 per cent when the individual ethnicities are added up.

Note that all appointments in the Stocktake published by the Ministry for Women are made by Ministers. Appendix One notes what Ministerial portfolio they are related to. The board appointments relevant to this request fall under three Ministers:

- Hon Damien O'Connor, Minister of Agriculture;
- Hon Meka Whaitiri, Minister for Food Safety and Associate Minister of Agriculture; and
- Hon Stuart Nash, Minister of Forestry.

I trust the information provided is of assistance. Should you have any concerns with this response, I would encourage you to raise these with the Ministry for Primary Industries at <u>Official.InformationAct@mpi.govt.nz</u>. Alternatively, you are advised of your right to also raise

any concerns with the Office of the Ombudsman. Contact details are: Office of the Ombudsman, PO Box 10152, Wellington 6143 or at <u>info@ombudsman.parliament.nz</u>.

Yours sincerely

U>

Michelle Morehu Director Government Services



Appendix One

#	Board Appointed	Position	Name	Ethnicity	Date of original appointment	Expiry date of present term
1	Agriculture and Marketing Research and Development Trust (Minister of Agriculture)	Member	Miriana Stephens	NZ Māori (Ngāi Te Rangi, Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāti Rārua)	12 February 2020	12 February 2023
2	National Animal Ethics Advisory Committee (Associate Minister of Agriculture)	Chair	Natalie K Waran	Scottish/Asian Indian	1 November 2021	31 October 2024
3	National Animal Ethics Advisory Committee (Associate Minister of Agriculture)	Member	Dianne T N Wepa	Māori (Ngāti Kahungunu)	14 March 2019	31 October 2024
4	National Animal Welfare Advisory Committee (Associate Minister of Agriculture)	Member	Nicholas J Poutu	NZ European/Māori (Tainui – Ngati Maniopoto)	13 July 2017	31 October 2022
5	National Animal Welfare Advisory Committee (Associate Minister of Agriculture)	Member	Natalie K Waran	Scottish/Asian Indian	1 November 2021	31 October 2024
6	New Zealand Walking Access Commission (Associate Minister of Agriculture)	Member	Lisa Chase	New Zealand Māori	6 August 2018	5 August 2021
7	New Zealand Walking Access Commission (Associate Minister of Agriculture)	Member	Pierre Henare	Māori: Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Hine	6 August 2018	5 August 2021

Charles Fergusson Building, 34-38 Bowen Street PO Box 2526 Wellington 6140, New Zealand mpi.govt.nz

8	Sustainable Food and Fibre Futures Panel (Minister of Agriculture)	Member	Anne- Marie Broughto n	Māori	1 October 2019	30 September 2022
9	Food Standards Australia New Zealand Board (Minister for Food Safety)	Member	Dr Palatasa Havea	Pacifica (Tongan)	1 July 2020	30 June 2023
10	Forestry Ministerial Advisory Group (Minister of Forestry)	Member	Henare Walker	Māori	17 May 2018	10 October 2024
11	Forestry Ministerial Advisory Group (Minister of Forestry)	Member	David Turner	Māori	1 July 2019	10 October 2024
12	Forestry Ministerial Advisory Group (Minister of Forestry)	Member	Dean Witehira	Māori	25 November 2019	10 October 2024
13	Forestry Ministerial Advisory Group (Minister of Forestry)	Member	Hūhana Lyndon	Māori	10 November 2021 ¹	10 October 2024

¹ Date of acceptance