

THE OFFICE FOR MĀORI CROWN RELATIONS

Level 3, Justice Centre 19 Aitken Street SX10111 Wellington 6011

14 April 2023 REF: OIA 84023

Brian Mullane

By email: fyi-request-22417-6d6e16eo@requests.fyi.orq.nz

Tēnā koe Brian

Request for Official Information: Christopher Finlayson's 9yr term as Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations

Thank you for your correspondence of 7 April 2023 requesting the following under the Official Information Act 1982 (OIA):

- a) Of the 59 Treaty settlements, from the period 2008 to 2017, how many individual settlements had the wording or the phrase 'co-governance' entered into the settlement document as a condition of each respective settlement?
- b) Please list the Tribes, sub-Tribes, Iwi, that had the term 'co-governance' entered into their agreed settlement documents?
- c) How many Treaty settlements have been made since the end of Finlayson's reign, i.e. 23rd September 2017?
- d) Of any/all settlements since September 2017, how many have had the term 'cogovernance' entered into the settlement documents.
- e) Please list the name of any/all Tribe, sub-Tribe, Iwi settlements since September 2017 that have had the term 'co-governance' mentioned in each settlement document.

In response to part (c) of your request, there have been 15 pieces of settlement legislation enacted since Minister Finlayson left office in September 2017.

The remainder or your request has been declined under section 18(d) of the OIA — the information requested is publicly available. The information can be found at: https://www.govt.nz/browse/history-culture-and-heritage/treaty-settlements/find-a-treaty-settlement/.

This website contains all deed of settlement documents to date. All the information you seek is within, or can be compiled from, those documents.

You have the right to seek an investigation and review by the Ombudsman of this decision. Information about this process is available at www.ombudsman.parliament.nz or phone o8oo 8o2 6o2.

Nāku noa, nā

Maureen Hickey

Acting Regional Director - Te Kahui Whakatau (Treaty Settlements), Te Tira Amokura