29 March 2019

Dear John,

RE: OIA 2018-19-18 CHINA TRADE COMMISSIONERS

Thank you for your request of 11 March 2019 regarding an Official Information Act 1982 (the Act) request, seeking:

 The name of Trade Commissioners of Guangzhou, Beijing, Shanghai, and Hong Kong from the past 10 years, and their bio or CV

The information you have requested is enclosed. However, the biographies and CVs of former Trade Commissioners has been withheld on the following grounds:

• Section 9(2)(a) of the Act – as releasing this information would compromise the privacy of natural persons.

Profiles of current Trade Commissioners are available at https://www.nzte.govt.nz/about/our-people/trade-commissioners

The response to your question is given below.

Location	Trade Commissioner	Start date	End date
Beijing	Alan Young	2/03/2009	3/03/2014
Beijing	Liam Corkery	3/02/2014	23/12/2018
Beijing	Andrew White	9/01/2019	Current
Guangzhou	Alan Young	3/04/2006	28/02/2009
Guangzhou	Patrick English	17/02/2009	11/01/2013
Guangzhou	John Cochrane	31/10/2011	6/02/2017
Guangzhou (secondment)	Fiona Acheson	2/03/2017	1/09/2017
Guangzhou (secondment)	Richard Dunsheath	28/08/2017	28/02/2018
Guangzhou (secondment)	Steve Jones	28/02/2018	13/07/2018
Guangzhou	Richard Dunsheath	1/03/2018	Current
Hong Kong	Sharon-May McCrostie	14/01/2008	27/02/2012
Hong Kong	Kevin Parish	10/02/2012	6/03/2015
Hong Kong (secondment)	Jane Liu	10/03/2015	14/07/2015
Hong Kong	Rachael McGuckian	28/07/2015	Current
Shanghai	Jeff Shepherd	8/11/2007	15/09/2011
Shanghai	Michael Arand	18/04/2011	31/10/2014
Shanghai (secondment)	Alan Young	26/01/2015	26/06/2015
Shanghai (secondment)	Terry Allen	27/07/2015	29/01/2016
Shanghai	Damon Paling	4/01/2016	Current

You have the right to seek an investigation and review by the Ombudsman of this decision. Information about how to make a complaint is available at www.ombudsman.parliament.nz or freephone 0800 802 602.

Yours sincerely

Melissa Trochon

Director - Ministerial

MoThele